The Long Road to MEBO: From the BATF to the CIA to the FBI

We already know that Thurman’s testimony at the US Grand Jury is clearly inaccurate. (See: FBI Thomas Thurman Is Telling WHOPPERS ).

According to the FD-302 of Tom Thurman that is provided with the police report, he received K1 from Richard Sherrow of the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms Lab on 15 June 1990.

Thurman’s testimony at the US Grand Jury. (Page 36)

Q Did Mr. Sherrow ultimately make this timer (available to you)?

A He made this available to me as an inter-comparison item.

But, as the SCCRC pointed out:

This position is clearly inaccurate, as was discovered during the precognition process. In fact Sherrow gave the timer K1 to the CIA in late 1987 and it was in CIA possession until June 1990.

QUESTION: How did the MST-13 Timer from Togo go from BATF to the CIA?

MST-13 Timer from Togo: K1

MST-13 Timer from Togo: K1

In his CP dated 15/09/1999, John Orkin [real name: Jack Christie] told Brian Murthag the following:

In reference to the MST-13 timer referred to as K-1 by the FBI Laboratory, I first saw this timer in late 1987 at the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) Laboratory in Rockville, Maryland.

Part of my duties for the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)  involved attending meetings of an interagency group called the Technical Threat Countermeasures Committee, in which the ATF participates.

At one of these meetings, which was held at the ATF Laboratory, someone, and I don’t recall who it was, drew my attention to the MST-13 timer. I was told that this particular device had been seized in Lomé Togo, by the Togolese authorities and subsequently turned over to ATF.

It was my understanding that  ATF had been in possession of this particular timer for some period of time and that it had not  been received fresh from the field.

I expressed an interest in being able to do an examination and technical exploitation of the Lomé timer. Sometime after October 1, 1987, the Lomé timer arrived at my facility for my examination. I do not have a clue as to how it (the MST-13) got into the building. I do not know Richard Shenow.

I do know, from this period, Bob Wall from ATF who sat on the Technical Threat Countermeasures Committee – Interagency Committee on Terrorism. I have no knowledge of any briefing by Richard Sherrow or Bob Wall at CIA HQ concerning the MST- 13 timer recovery in Lomé, Togo.

Upon receipt of the Lomé timer, I proceeded to disassemble it and examine its circuitry. The results of my examination are set forth in my technical exploitation report 88SP006. In order for this report to have been assigned on FY 1988, I must have received the Lomé timer after October 1, 1987.

However…

In his CP dated 10/01/2000, John Orkin [real name: Jack Christie] told a very different story:

My first involvement with the MST-13 timing device occurred when I had sight of cables sent by a team from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, who were in Lomé, Togo in 1986. Their communication mentioned recovery of a timing device, which was subsequently, brought back to the United States.

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms has a representative on the Technical Threat / a Countermeasures Committee which meets on a  monthly basis. Normally, I would expect that a  device such as the timer would be delivered to me for analysis and, if necessary, preparation of a report. That did not happen on this occasion.

Approximately one year later I was on a tour of the BATF lab when I was permitted to view the timer. I can no longer recall who I dealt with at the BATF.

After a cursory examination of the timer, I arranged through the CIA’s Counter Terrorism Centre to have the device delivered to my laboratory.

It  did not escape the attention of the precognosers that :

This explanation regarding initial contact with the timer contrasts sharply with the explanation given during precognition by Mr Murtagh and is at odds with Sherrow’s explanation of how the timer came to be in the hands of the CIA.

Let us go back to the story of BATF Sherrow.

Here is a short extract from the Trial:

21            Q    And having performed these tests and

22  photographed it, what did you then do with it?

23            A    I was requested to take it to CIA

24  headquarters in Langley, Virginia, and give a briefing

25  on what I found.

2859

1            Q    And did you do that?

2            A    I did.

When it comes to the MST-13 Timers, the legal truth is sure fuzzy!

This entry was posted in CIA, MEBO, ORKIN, Sherrow, Togo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

